top of page

CANOPY

interior designs

1970's Renovation

Reno, remodel, home improvement project, gut job; however you chose to word it, remodeling a home is no easy feat.  When we first decided to move to Aurora it was a bit overwhelming trying to find a house that fit our needs as a family but then, there she was in all her 1970's glory, this beautiful ranch home with lots of potential.  Of course the hubs couldn't see past all the walls full of floral wall paper and wood paneling or the carpeted kitchen and bathroom floors, but all I could see was potential...oh and this AMAZING marble fireplace! It only took me one walk through this house and I was SOLD! I had so many design ideas going through my head, walls coming down, kitchen redesign, more natural light.  The list went on and on. The only problem was how would I be able to show that vision to the hubby?? Well, that's where all the design fun began.  

Once I convinced him (and I do mean convinced) that this was the perfect house for us, we contacted a local realtor, Jerry Hoegh with Thomas Realty to take us through the house and give us the dish.  He helped us step by step through the process of purchasing this fixer upper and went above and beyond to help us make this exciting purchase!  The next step was to get a contractor to walk through the home with us and listen to my vision for the house.  Jeff Juzyk, owner of Juzyk Construction in Aurora, walked through each room with us listening to me blab about what I wanted to do in each space and he let me create and dream and talked me through the logistics of it all.  He was really wonderful.  Once the papers were signed and the keys were in our hands we had a year of projects to look forward to! The hubby and I tried to do as much of the demo that we could ourselves and anything that we could do on our own (without ruining the house) we tried to do.  We would make a weekend trip with all three kids almost every weekend to get something done...stripping wallpaper (in every.single.room), knocking down walls, tearing up carpet, scraping off the popcorn ceilings, ripping out bathrooms and much more than I can even remember...pretty sure we have chosen to forget some of these experiences...but either way we sure do have some stories to tell about the process!

One of my FAVORITE spaces of our home is our custom kitchen.  I know many people think why spend the extra money on a custom kitchen, but let me tell you, it was well worth the money.  I had the opportunity to design my kitchen down to every single detail, which for me was so much fun!  I worked with Clark Mosier, with Clark's Custom Cabinetry to design our kitchen just the way I wanted.  He was so great to work with and his beautiful craftsmanship surpassed my expectations. I spend more hours of the day in my kitchen (feeding tiny mouths) than I do anywhere else in my home and I get to enjoy his beautiful work every day.  

LONG story short we worked with some great local people during the renovation of our home. Along with Juzyk Construction for the major demo, carpentry, windows, flooring, tile, we also worked with Juzyk Electric and Juzyk Plumbing.  We had our front door painted by Dane Schafer with Premier Finishing.  The exterior of our home as well as our interior doors were painted by LaVelle Hitzemann of Hitzemann Painting and Todd Barger with Todd's Stump Removal removed several big stumps around the house.  Our laundry room and mud room were tiled by Always Tile out of Phillips.     

The interior of our home is coming along well, but you know how it goes, there is always a project.  The exterior and yard work is still a work in progress, but we will get there...I gotta give the hubs major props for doing great things with a lawn that was practically dead when we moved in!

Take a look at some of our before and after pics of our remodel.  If you are in the middle of a reno or starting one soon, CANOPY would love to help you through the process or hook you up with some great local contractors!

Jerry Hoegh, Thomas Realty 402.694.9224

Juzyk Construction 402.694.5685

Juzyk Plumbing 402.604.0398

Juzyk Electric 402.631.3415

Clarks Custom Cabinetry 308.571.0213

Hitzemann Painting 402.631.1778

Premier Finishing 402.725.3514

Todd's Stump Removal 402.694.6826

Always Tile LLC 308.383.0185

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
FOLLOW ME
bottom of page